Change of Focus

Recently, I’ve been doing very little writing. I’d like to say that I’ve been on a great adventure, visiting some exotic place or that I have a new love in my life and I’ve been preoccupied, but the truth is that I’ve been reluctant to keep reliving all of the experiences that have fueled my writing about narcissism.

In order to access the stories, I have to keep an old wound open, or in the case of my mother, I had to lance an abscess. This is valuable, but it does affect my mood, my outlook and how I feel from day to day, so it can take its toll.

I have been reading about how to heal from these experiences. There does not seem to be a lot of information about it out there beyond the basics. I hoped that I would come up with a solution that did not involve years of work, but alas, I have not.

A pause does not signify the end, but sometimes a break is necessary.

 

3 thoughts on “Change of Focus

  1. I understand this very well! I started a blog last year and after only a few months, I found that while it had been great for personal healing, at some point it started to be something that just weighed on me. I have read some of your stuff and it has been very helpful! For me, I have to put aside the “narcissism” topic more and more and focus on the positives of just being and figuring out ME. It’s good to look to the future rather than looking back! Maybe someday I will be able to talk about it often without it affecting me but for now, I still need to heal. I’m considering opening back up my blog with a different focus. Writing with a positive spin about life in the NOW and possibly throwing in a few life lessons from the past but not enough to dwell there. I admire you and what you have done and respect your ability to see what you need to do for yourself! I would want a “life coach” that could do for herself what you may advice and lead someone else to do. Blessings to you in your future and may it be brighter than ever before!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment